Why I don’t have New Years Resolutions and what I do instead…

20131230-161325.jpg

Maybe I just don’t like doing what everyone else is doing. My inner rebel likes to do things differently. Maybe it’s because I know myself well enough to know that when I’ve had NY resolutions in the past, they last for about a week. Maybe my resistance to New Years resolutions is something I should look at. Whatever the reason, since I was young I just decided that I don’t do resolutions. To me, it can feel like we’re telling ourselves, “you’re not quite good enough the way you are, so these are the things we’re going to work on changing this year.” Don’t get me wrong, I’m all for growth and development. It’s just that resolutions typically sound like a list of things that we’d like to change about ourselves.

Jeff Brown, author of Soulshaping, posted this beautiful quote today:

“Sometimes we forget how far we have traveled. Good to acknowledge what it took to get this far, all those hoops we had to jump through, all those difficult overcomings. Good to stroke our face with love and remind ourselves how much courage it took to brave the journey. Good to say ‘thank you’ to the spirit that walks within and beside us, reminding us that we are simply and utterly worth fighting for.”

This is what the new year is about to me. It’s about looking at this last year, and 2013 was a doozy for me, and telling myself “Damn! Look at all the amazing things I did and learned!! How lucky am I to have received this love, these lessons, and to have been in communion with such beautiful souls. How can I expand on this moving forward and how do I want to FEEL as I do?” Because it’s not about getting things done or losing that weight or reaching a goal. It’s about EVERYTHING that happens through the process. It’s about the way you feel in the moment and what that’s reflecting about your soul and your journey.

I’ve noticed we have some resistance, consciously or subconsciously, to feeling at ease, in our flow, and allowing things to happen without pushing. We like to MAKE things happen. We RESOLVE that things should be a certain way, so we’re going to do whatever we need to do to get that outcome. That we need to be busy, to be working, to always be doing better (whatever that means). This year has taught me that all that is SO overrated. When we’re in our flow, letting things take their course, moving and acting from the way we want to feel in our lives…THAT’S when the magic happens. That’s when our soul and our vision can move through us and things can be seemingly effortless. Don’t get me wrong, it takes effort to show up, to do our own work, to be present. But when we make that effort, the Universe/God/Goddess/etc. conspires and synchronizes to bring to us exactly what is needed.

So instead of resolutions this year, I’m taking time to reflect on what I want to FEEL more of this coming year. I’m inspired by one of my mentors, Danielle Laporte, to think about what my Core Desired Feelings this year/month/week/day are, and what can I do in order to feel those CDF’s.

This year I want to feel In Communion, Abundant, Playful, Flowing, Expressive, Sensual, Free. What are your Core Desired Feelings? How do you intend to grow, expand, allow, and show up in 2014?

2 thoughts on “Why I don’t have New Years Resolutions and what I do instead…

  1. Well of course I love this post as it is very close to my own feelings and aspirations for the year ahead. I am also committed to feeling more Ease this year and being in the flow – life is so much easier and more fun that way!

  2. I love this and completely agree. Yes! Let’s accept who we are and what we’ve been through, embracing our accomplishments and reflect on how we want to feel moving forward.

Leave a Reply

