Dancing under the full moon

full moonMy feet are covered in grass, my jeans are wet, I keep pulling leaves out of my hair, and my hands smell like damp earth and burnt sage.  And I’m ecstatic.  I’ve just been dancing under the full moon.

I have my full moon ritual that I do every month, but this time my soul called me outside, and so I listened, performing my simple ritual at the base of a pine tree under the Moon’s soft light.  I sat with her, listening to her and to my own heart.  Listening to any special whisperings she may have for me this cycle.  I heard, “I’m finally here, I’m fully in my body, and I’m saying yes.  And I’m going to keep saying yes.  Keep feeling,  Keep showing up.”

And then I danced, wildly, spinning in circles with bare feet under the Moon until I fell into the dew-soaked grass.  I laughed like I haven’t laughed since I was 7 years old, so fully connected with Younger Self, blissfully aware of my spirit’s light.

On my walk home I can feel my own ecstatic energy pulsing through my body, radiating out so many feet beyond my physical boundaries.  No wonder I kept all this power, this energy, locked inside me for so long.  Its intensity is overwhelming but beautiful.  And since I was young I would get images of ages past, of ancient full moons, stone circles, primeval forests where I would visit with the faeries and spirits, but I had no idea where these flashes of seemingly random impressions came from.  As something settled deep within my belly last night I realized, these are past lives, journeys my soul has already been on, places I’ve been to with my soul brothers and sisters.

Ritual, connection with our Younger Self, creating sacred space, setting new intentions, releasing old patterns, continuing to show up for ourselves.  This is the only way to wake up, to deal with our pain, to get through it all.  Iyanla Vanzant writes, “Until you heal the wounds of your past, you are going to bleed.  You can bandage the bleeding with food, with alcohol, with drugs, with work, with cigarettes, with sex; But eventually, it will all ooze through and stain your life.  You must find the strength to open the wounds, stick your hands inside, pull out the core of the pain that is holding you in your past, the memories and make peace with them.”  The role of ritual, of magic, of sacred space is to hold and guide us through this process of pulling out the “core of the pain” so that we know can honor this process, honor the old version of ourselves that we must release in order to welcome the new.

5 thoughts on “Dancing under the full moon

  1. Glorious post Gorgeous! I felt like I was there dancing along side you. You touched on a sacred piece that I have long suppressed. She is with me and part of me, she guides and aligns me but, she has been asked to be silent for so long. Perhaps now is her time to RISE! xo

  2. It’s almost hard to say anything at all…you’re leaving me speechless. The beauty of your words is mesmerizing. And I LOVE that quote you shared. Powerful truth. You have a gift of weaving spirit into words.

  3. Gorgeous, honey. What a fantastic way to respond to your impulse to continue your celebration of the month’s point of greatest fullness! I love it.

  4. Beautiful post! I love your writing style and I love that you let us into your full moon ritual. Our Younger Selves have so many gifts to offer us. Thank you for the reminder to feel… and dance under the full moon!

  5. I love how you bring us into your ritual and share the ecstatic experience with us! So beautiful, grounded and in the present moment.

    I resonate with what you are saying about connection to the sacred as a path to healing ourselves. Always a seeker, I spent the first 20 years of my life knowing there was something missing but I didn’t have a context for what it might be. I came to ritual through my exploration of sacred images, symbols and dance. Making things sacred has filled that missing piece in my core that longed for deeper meaning and connection to an ancient understanding of being spirit in a human body. Beautiful writing!

Leave a Reply

