In my wildest dreams…Part 1

dream catcher

I’ve been working lately on dreaming more.   Dreaming, envisioning, desiring.  I used to be really afraid of wanting something whether it was a thing, a feeling, a person, an outcome, because I was afraid of how I’d feel if I didn’t get it.  If I don’t acknowledge and feed them, though, none of them will come true.  And the thing about dreams is, the more we open to them, the more vulnerable to them we become, the more the Universe conspires to help you in your vision.  In the words of Joseph Campbell, when you “follow your bliss…you will begin to meet people who are in the field of your bliss, and they open the doors to you.”

I dream of long walks in shaded woods, of medicine-making, of magic.  I dream of Ireland and Paris.  Of sitting around a fire with my soul sisters who inspire, hold, and bless me with their presence in my life.  I dream of laughing until I cry.  Of time to write, paint, dance, and BE in my body every day.  I dream of holding space for healing, speaking my truth, and supporting dreams of others on their own paths.  Curling up with a book.  Of creation, compassion, softness, and ease.  Living in a beautiful place with enough land to have gardens stretching off into the forest.  And a dog that looks like a wolf.

When I first wrote down my dreams and looked at my list, I was shocked.  Staring back at me was this beautiful piece of my soul.  I saw myself so clearly in those words, in my dreams.  This short paragraph was so much more vibrant and full of life than anything I had ever written or even allowed myself to see, to recognize about myself.  And so wonderfully feminine.  Reading over my dreams sets my soul on fire and makes me feel like I’m finally taking up the BIG space I have in this world.  I hear a voice saying, “There she is!”

There’s always more work to do, our journey never ends, but in this moment there’s a stillpoint.  It’s the end of an exhale, a pause before the next breath.  And I’m so grateful for the fight, the pain, the heartache, traumas, stories, teachers, and shadow teachers that have been a part of this journey so far.

Some of these dreams will be realized, and some of them won’t.  Some of them will have to die, and that’s okay.  Sometimes we need to let go of old dreams to make space for new ones.

What do you dream of?

Leave a Reply

