Pumpkin + a recipe

I’ve been putting pumpkin in EVERYTHING lately.  Ice cream, oatmeal, smoothies, curries, muffins…you get the idea.  I justify it by reminding myself of the benefits of pumpkin.  It’s got antioxidants to keep our skin glowing and wrinkle-free (gotta start young, right?), carotenoids to protect our eyes, potassium to balance electrolytes and keep our muscles functioning, and vitamins A and C to keep our immune system going strong.  Mostly though, I love it because cooking with pumpkin usually involves all the other fall spices that make me feel warm and fuzzy inside, especially on days when I can use a little extra grounding and comfort in my life.

Paleo Pumpkin Bread (adapted from Elana’s Pantry)

1 c. blanched almond flour
1/4 tsp. sea salt
1/2 tsp. baking soda
1 Tbsp. cinnamon
1 tsp. nutmeg
1/2 tsp. cloves
1/2 c. roasted or canned pumpkin*
2 Tbsp. honey or maple syrup
1/4 tsp. stevia
3 eggs

Combine flour, salt, baking soda, and spices in a large bowl.  Add pumpkin, honey or maple syrup, stevia, and eggs and blend either by hand (I used a fork) or in a food processor.  Pour the batter into a loaf pan (mine measures 7.5″ x 3.5″).  Bake at 350 F for 35-45 minutes, and let cool for an hour.

*Elana uses her homemade roasted pumpkin, but I didn’t feel up to carrying a pumpkin home from the store, so I used canned and it turned out just fine.

Leave a Reply

