Vegan Pumpkin Ice Cream

This recipe was a collaborative effort between my roommate Heather and myself.  Heather did most of the work though.  We’ve been waiting until it was appropriately crisp and cool outside to warrant pumpkin usage to make this ice cream.  Just to be clear, I’m not vegan.  For those of you who are, I still love you, but I also love fish tacos.

I’m not sure what else needs to be said.  Chocolate and pumpkin…it’s a thing.  You need to try this.

Vegan Pumpkin Ice Cream (adapted from PBSparents)

one can coconut milk (full fat!)
1 1/2 c. pumpkin puree
3/4 c. maple syrup
2 tsp. vanilla extract
1/4 heaping tsp. cinnamon
1/4 heaping tsp. ginger powder
1/4 heaping tsp. nutmeg
1/4 heaping tsp. cloves
1/4 tsp. salt
1 c. of chocolate chips (optional, but not really)

Whisk everything together in a large bowl, transfer mixture to your ice cream maker and freeze according to the manufacturer’s instructions.

Sadly, I don’t have a picture of the finished product in our one pretty bowl because I only have the camera on my iPhone and instagram will only take you so far.  Let’s just hope one of these days I get a real camera.  Until then, you may have to put up with me experimenting with different filters like I’m a pro.

Leave a Reply

