Triple Sesame Bowl

Hey y’all.  I know it’s been a long time.  I’m not going to apologize because knowing me, this long hiatus might happen again, but just know that I was thinking of you.  Every time I baked cookies (not that it happens too often as of late), picked some lovely vegetables from the garden (I’ve been trying to keep up with the cucumbers), or finished a completely satisfying meal at home, I’d tell myself to write about it.  And then I wouldn’t.

mutant cucumber

I’ve been feeling pretty scattered with all the stuff going on in life recently, so I’m working on eating more grounding foods: brown rice, sweet potatoes, seaweed, nut and seed butters, etc.  Here’s a bowl I made last night after getting home from work.

Note: For some reason it’s taken me this long to realize how awesome it is to cook a lot of rice at once so I have some for the next few days.  It makes it super easy to throw together bowls on those nights you need some nourishment, but don’t have the energy to make a big production out of dinner.  Just mix up the veggies and spices you use in the sauce 😉 

cooked brown basmati rice
cooked adzuki beans
broccoli florets
1 head of baby bok choy

sauce:
1/2 tsp. miso (I use brown rice miso, but feel free to experiment)
1 tbsp. tahini (add more to taste if you like)
1/2 tsp. apple cider vinegar
ground ginger
cardamom

drizzle of toasted sesame oil
sprinkle of toasted sesame seeds
dusting of chinese 5 spice blend

Steam broccoli until just tender, then throw in the baby bok choy and steam for another minute or so.  While waiting for the broccoli to steam, make the sauce.   Mash together the miso, tahini, and apple cider vinegar in a bowl to make a paste.  Sprinkle in the spices to taste.  You can also mix up the spices, using whatever you have on hand or whatever sounds good.  I like to use warming spices (yes I know it’s August) because they’re good for digestion.  Add whatever spices you choose to taste, then slowly add room temperature water until you reach the desired consistency; mine is usually about the consistency of melted ice cream.

Once the veggies are lightly steamed, add the rice, beans, and veggies to the bowl with the sauce.  Top with the toasted sesame oil, seeds, and Chinese 5 Spice blend.  Take care not to add too much of the oil because it can be over powering.

Makes 1 bowl.

Leave a Reply

