Farmers Market Salad

I’m not trying to make you jealous when I tell you that it’s 82 degrees right now in Southern California.  I’m just trying to put this glorious day into context 😉 Every Saturday morning, my mom and I go to our local farmers market.  We meet for coffee at 8:30, then stop to talk to the lady who makes the really cool jewelry that we never actually buy, then proceed through our usual route, stopping to sample all the flavors at the hummus stand (which we try every week because you never know, they switch things up), talk with the goat cheese guy, say hello to the fruit lady, the kids at the Cal Poly Pomona stand, and the fabulously flamboyant lettuce guy, who sometimes gives us free basil.  Then I rush off to teach my two yoga classes.  We have our routine pretty much down to a science.

Today when I got home from teaching I threw together a salad with my newly purchased produce and thought I’d share it with you.  I didn’t measure anything so use as much or as little of everything as you like.  Also feel free to add beans for extra protein; adzuki or black beans would go nicely.

Farmers Market Salad

Arame
A few leaves of kale, de-stemmed and chopped
Squeeze of lemon
Handful of watercress, spinach, or whatever other baby greens you have on hand,
Small carrot, chopped
1/2 beet, grated
Cilantro, chopped
1/4 of an avocado
1 Tbsp. pumpkin seeds
balsamic vinaigrette
olive oil
salt and pepper to taste

Soak the arame for 5 min.  Put the kale in a bowl, squeeze the lemon juice over it, and let it sit while you prep the other veggies.

Throw everything in a big bowl and enjoy!

5 thoughts on “Farmers Market Salad

  1. Love the bowl of farmer’s market delights! Must ask you… what is arame? I don’t want to miss out on something tasty!
    Great blog! I’m happy to have found you.
    E

    1. Thanks for the sweet comment, Erin! I’m so happy you stopped by; I’ve been getting your recipes for a few months now and love reading about your adventures! Arame is a type of sea vegetable that I’ve been using a lot of lately. It’s really high in minerals and super easy to use, plus the flavor is really mild compared to many other seaweeds. I add it to soups, rice dishes, even over my eggs. You just have to soak it for about 5 minutes before adding it in. I definitely suggest giving it a try!

Leave a Reply

